Flipped Lecture 2 – Search

The second part of the documentary Download: The True Story Of The Internet was titled Search and I watched it with more interest than Browser Wars because I knew less about the topic. My notes from this segment:

 

The part that interested me the most was about advertising and how once that was done right, making money on the internet was now possible. I think that has impacted the way I use the internet the most. I can make money online if I wish (and I have through offering my services as a web designer and by publishing my own ebook) and that’s all possible because the search engines found a way to make money that wasn’t flashy flashy banner ads. I mean, that would have had to happen eventually, but it happened with Google stealing an idea from Oveture.

My final notes on this lecture say “Google mania –> Google phobia re: personal info” and I’d just like to say I think this is both totally valid and totally irrelevant. Yes, Google has access to a hell of a lot of our personal information (and they’re not the only ones) but that fact is so ubiquitous in our lives today that it almost doesn’t matter. Almost.

Join the discussion

