Flipped Lecture 1 – Browser Wars

I’ve started taking notes differently when I listen to lectures. My notes for part one of Download: The True Story Of The Internet look like this-

I watched part 1- Browser Wars. It’s about the world’s first graphical web browser and the trouble it caused in Silicon Valley. It was quite interesting, even though I knew a bit about the so called browser wars already.

In fact, unlike these people in the video below, I actually knew what a browser was before I watched this Browser Wars.

My dad sent me that video a few years ago so I could laugh at it. I made me a bit sad actually.

Anyway, I use Google Chrome as my browser and I’m happy to see how far they’ve come since being releassed in Spetember of 2008.

Source: StatCounter Global Stats – Browser Market Share

Anyway, I’m deviating from the doco a bit as it focused on the demolition of Netscape Navigator and the maliciousness of Microsoft in creating Internet Explorer to get rid of the competition. Although, I guess what goes around comes around as Internet Explorer is now no longer the most popular browser…

One response to “Flipped Lecture 1 – Browser Wars

  1. Pingback: Flipped Lecture 2 – Search | Zoe MacLean

Join the discussion

