Get With The Times, New Roman

I’m going to keep yammering on about fonts for a bit, because I’ve fallen down that rabbit hole again.

So imagine for a minute that all your favourite (and not-so-favourite) fonts were people. Then imagine they were in a meeting deciding whether or not to accept a new font to their little club. Then stop imagining that because the hilarious folks at College Humor have already imagined it and they turned it into a video for you to see.

I like this video because it gives personality to fonts and makes me think about them in new ways. It’s also well scripted and quite funny, or should I say punny? No, I probably shouldn’t.

The only thing I don’t like is that Comic Sans appears to be the hero of this piece. However, the comments also picked up on this irk of mine and for once, the comments section of a YouTube video is filled with smart replies, conversations and jokes.

For more real font hilarity, watch the sequel here.

What did you think of the video? Tell me in the comments.

 

One response to “Get With The Times, New Roman

  1. I loved it. ‘Humanising’ the decisions (deliberate or otherwise) that we make is always fun and wow! Production values, much???

Join the discussion

