A Word About Fonts

I was never really interested in fonts, and to be honest, I still don’t get super excited by the thought of them. However, I do find the debate behind the use of fonts interesting, especially the use of Comic Sans.

Early in highschool, I discovered the joys of instant messaging and joined my friends online for almost nightly chats. Using MSN Messenger, I was able to control what font and colour my messages appeared in and my choice for many years was Comic Sans MS in bold and purple.

I stopped using Comic Sans when the IM trend died down (thank-you Facebook) and haven’t really thought about it since. Until, that is, I read a rant about the misuse of Comic Sans everyday courtesy of an interesting tweet I spied.

What I didn’t know when I clicked that first interesting tweet was that I was about to stumble into the dark and confusing world of font wars. A world where people either loved or loathed Comic Sans and vicious arguments were had over the font choices you made.

Okay, it wasn’t as scary and serious as all that. But it was confusing. I didn’t understand why Comic Sans was so hated. And then I was sucked in. I found this really helpful article that explained the background of the Comic Sans hate and in turn was pointed in the direction of this website dedicated to banning Comic Sans.

I am now one of the thousands (millions?) of people who hate Comic Sans. And I will judge you if you use it inappropriately (ie. ever).

I don’t want to end this post on a negative note, and I don’t want to appear one sided so I’ll leave you with this final link. A piece written by Mike Lacher as Comic Sans rebuttal toward all the hate (NSFW- strong language). You’re welcome.

2 responses to “A Word About Fonts

  1. Guess what Zoe? A font is a font is a font……….

Join the discussion

